Posted by: Olly | January 16, 2007

Waiting for the blue bar…

Hello again.

In my job there’s a lot of waiting around, often late at night as it’s the only time you can work on a system, and it’s the most common time for backups. First backups can take hours, and though we offer to copy the data on to a removable hard disk in order to speed up that everso important first backup, alot of people choose to just let it run, and so we sit and wait.

Anyhoo, while I’m waiting for the mother of all Exchange backups, I thought I would be one of those people (oh the shame) and create a list for your delectation, a list of ‘Things to keep you occupied whilst waiting for backups’. Catchy…heh?

1) Sketchfighter 4000 Alpha
Great, old skool (literally), shooter. Lovely simple graphics. If you get bored on your own, fire it up against a friend, or spend a few hours designing your own level. Superb.
2) Kult Heretic Kingdoms
An excellent rpg romp-n-slash game for both the mac and the pc. Very much in the visual style of Ice Wind Dale and others of that ilke, and only £20 to buy (that’s about $18,000 at the moment) it’s great value for money. I’ve wasted many a late night on this game…damn my addictive personality :)
Kult
3) Digg
Love it, or hate it (and I’m still not sure which one applies to me) the mix of news articles and comment flaming make it a great way to waste some time waiting for the clock to tick.
Digg
4) Delicious Library
I’m a total nerd when it comes to listing and sorting my stuff. In the real world, I just chuck it on the shelf, or in the cupboard, but in my virtual shiney OS X world, everything is listed and tagged. Delicious Library allows me to combine my love of reading and books in general with my need to organise my collection. It’s like crack for bookworms.
Delicious Monster
5) Short Stories
As I’ve said before, I love reading, and I’ve always been a fan of the short story. It’s such an easy way to get in to (and out of) of reading. This site has it all; the good and the bad.
Short Stories

O.

Leave a Reply

Categories

